Controversial OEM OnePlus is putting the One on sale from $249. For the lower $249, you’ll be able to buy the 16 GB Silk White version of the phone and $299 will get you the Sanstone Black version with 64 GB of storage. OnePlus says they’re doing an experiment with this sale and because quantities are limited, so are the sale times. You’ll be able to purchase the discounted phones on June 1 – 12:00 GMT (8 am EST), June 1 – 12:00 GMT (8 am EST), June 2 – 2:00 GMT (10 pm EST -1 day), June 3 – 12:00 GMT (8 am EST), June 4 – 2:00 GMT (10 pm EST -1 day), June 5 – 12:00 GMT (8 am EST), June 6 – 2:00 GMT (10 pm EST -1 day), and June 7 – 12:00 GMT (8 am EST). In theory this will give multiple parts of the world equal chance and snapping up the phone.

Dimensions: 152.9 x 75.9 x 8.9 mm (6.02 x 2.99 x 0.35 in)

Weight: 162 g (5.71 oz)

Screen: 5.5 inches, 1080P IPS

Chipset: Qualcomm MSM8974AC Snapdragon 801

CPU: Quad-core 2.5 GHz Krait 400

GPU: Adreno 330

Internal: 16/64 GB, 3 GB RAM

Camera: 13 MP rear/ 5 MP front

WLAN: Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac

Bluetooth: v4.1

via GSMArena.com

OnePlus has said multiple times they’re not making money on the One but wanted to experiment with the price and flash sale model this week. OnePlus relies on social media and it’s fans to spread the word about the OnePlus One dramatically cutting the marketing budget compared to a big company like Samsung or Apple who buys television and other ads like they’re en masse. In a blog post on the OnePlus forums, they’re clear to point out that the sale will only be occurring on OnePlus.net which will affect customers in India and South-east Asian countries who get their One’s through sites like Amazon. The company assures those affected that country-specific offers will be coming soon.

For a good chunk of OnePlus’ existence, it has been shrouded in controversy. Whether it’s been controversial promotions designed to blow up on social media, who is actually funding the OnePlus operation, or screen issues, OnePlus is a much talked about company. To their credit, OnePlus has been very upfront with both their critics and fans directly facing each issue. The company that’s built on social media buzz regularly takes to their forums to address users and their concerns directly.

You can pick up the OnePlus One during the flash sale from their website. Alternatively you can check out Swappa.com for a used device after the sale ends.

Source: OnePlus One Flash Sale

About the author

Matt Adams

I love technology, Arsenal FC, The Ohio State Buckeyes and the Kentucky Wildcats. I'm obsessed with phones and talking about them. You can find me on reddit, my username is mattsatwork. My views are my own!